Connect with us


APC sweeps Kano council polls



True to the promise by Governor Umar Ganduje that his party would not concede any local government to the opposition, the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the 484 councillorship and 44 chairmanship seats in Kano State at the council polls held on Saturday.

Though the election witnessed low turnout, it was adjudged as “peaceful.” Security was tight in all the polling units, as the people cast their ballots.

Out of the 18 registered political parties in the state, only 12 fielded candidates and participated in the council election.

Kano State Independent Electoral Commission (KANSIEC) Chairman, Prof. Garba Ibrahim Sheka said winners of the election will be issued with their certificates today.

Prof Sheka, in a press conference yesterday said, out of five million registered voters 2,350,577 electorate voted.

The KANSIEC boss hailed Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje for not interfering in the election.

“I am happy that nobody, not even a chicken, was feared dead in the election. At least, the election was 89 per cent successful,” Sheka said.

He also appreciated the efforts of security agencies, who he said: “were everywhere to ensure voters maintained law and order.”

Governor Ganduje, who voted in his Ward 008 ward, of Dawakin Kudu local area, expressed delight about the peaceful conduct of the election.

“I am impressed by how people came out to vote peacefully. It showed the election has been accepted by all the people of Kano State.

“And this gives us confidence, especially as we don’t believe in a caretaker committee to be managing the local government councils. Thus, we must have elected officials to manage the affairs of our 44 local government areas.

“This election, therefore, serves as the end of tenure for those who were elected three years ago.

“People were orderly, as they voted. There was no intimidation or harassment of anybody and they voted the candidates of their choices,” the governor said.

Prof. Sheka said the commission will improve on its “minor” shortcomings in next elections.

Continue Reading


Shocking! Peter Obi Dumps PDP, cites “Recent Developments Within the Party”



Frontline Presidential aspirant on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and former governor of Anambra State, Mr Peter Obi has dumped the opposition party.

In a letter dated 24th May 2022  addressed to the National Chairman of the party and submitted through the Aspirant’s Agulu Ward, Obi said his decision was informed by “recent developments within the party”.

According to him  although he is still committed to nation-building, he might seek a different route to achieving it.


Continue Reading


2023 Elections: 10 Ministers Resign from Buhari’s Cabinet



Ten Nigerian cabinet members resigned to run for political office in compliance with an order from President Muhammadu Buhari.

According to Lai Mohammed, minister of information, the ministers will be replaced immediately. Buhari had directed all cabinet ministers that intended to run in national elections next February to resign from their posts by May 16 to ensure they didn’t unfairly benefit from their government positions.

Mohammed said he didn’t have any information on the status of central bank Governor Godwin Emefiele, who has also declared his intention to run.

Buhari holds Valedictory service for Ministers

President Buhari on Friday held a valedictory session with the ten ministers that tendered their resignation letters to pursue their political ambition in the 2023 elections.

President Buhari also promised to fill as soon as possible the vacuum created by the departure of the ministers.

Minister of information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed disclosed this while briefing State House correspondents at the end of the validatory session at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

According to him, the outgoing Ministers that attended the session were; Rotimi Amaechi (Transportation), Chris Ngige (Labour and Employment), Godswill Akpabio (Niger Delta Affairs), Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu (Science and Technological Innovation), Timipre Sylva State for Petroleum Resources), Tayo Alasoadura (State for Niger Delta Affairs), Dame Tallen Paulen (Women Affairs), Uche Ogar (State for Mines and Steel Development), Abubakar Malami (Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice) and Emeka Nwajiuba (State for Education), who was absent but with a permission.

(Politics Nigeria)

Continue Reading


Resign Now, Buhari Orders Ngige, Amaechi, Akpabio, Nwajiuba, Other Aspirants



President Muhammadu Buhari has directed that all members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) running for elective offices to submit their letters of resignation on or before Monday the 16th of May, 2022.

The Minister of information and Culture, Lai Mohamed, disclosed this on Wednesday during the Federal Executive Council meeting.

He said that the directive excludes the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo.

The Information Minister affirmed that if there are any amendments or additions to this directive they would be made shortly.

According to the Minister, the directive might involve political appointees, if the need arises.

The affected appointees include, Ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; Justice and Attorney General, Abubakar Malami, who have joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressive Congress (APC).

Others are the Minister of State  Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for governorship position in Abia State, the Minister of Women Affairs, Paulline Tallen, who recently declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

He added that the directive excludes the Vice President because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

Continue Reading


Copyright © 2021 Sunrise Magazine. All rights reserved